Award winners are an impressive line up

British Dairying organises a hit with the 2018 Cream Awards dinner

Image of the winners of the Cream Awards 2018 sponsored by British Dairying magazine for dairy famers

The winners of the Cream Awards 2018

The 2017/18 Cream Awards entries were up on the previous year giving the judges quite a task to determine overall winners.

On the day, said the judges, so many more of the contenders would win in another year, it was very tight.

The aim of the awards as ever is to showcase some of Britain’s brightest and best working in the dairy industry and we really think we have pulled off a fantastic list.

We are most grateful to our prestigious group of judges who preside over the entries and also the category judges who have also battled through to find a winner in their category. Some entrants were self entry but many were nominations from industry professionals.

Those judges on the main panel included: Meurig Raymond MBE – President NFU, David Cotton –Dairy Farmer and Dairypro Chairman, Sean Rickard -Economist, Mike King – Farmer & Chairman RABDF, Nicholas Saphir – Executive Chairman OMSCo, Rob Drysdale – Consultant Vet, Nick Green, Operations Director Lye Cross Farm. The Chair was Alan Whibley owner and Publisher of British Dairying. Category judges John Allen Kite Consulting, Michael Oakes NFU, Andrew Watson New Holland Agriculture, Charlotte Read Krka, Jon Wilson Holt Farms Group, Adam Buitelaar (Buitelaar), Andrew Jackson Mole Valley Farmers, Roger Briddock NSF International, Jon Duffy Anglia Farmers.

We also thank the buying team at Morrisons Supermarkets who organised the Taste of Excellence taste testing at their head office in Bradford.

The winners were awarded on the evening of 7th February 2018 at Chesford Grange Hotel, Warwickshire. Thank you to our inspirational speaker Jay Rayner and compére Sean Sparling.

Photos from the event are available at from 10th February 2018.

Winner List 2017/18 Awards

Image of Cream Awards 2018 sponsored by British Dairying Lambert Leonard and May

The Lucky Cow Pub, Lambert Leonard and May

CREAM AWARD sponsored by Anglia Farmers

Winner – Lambert Leonard & May


Winner – Jack Coombes, BM Coombes & Sons Ltd
Highly Commended – Henry Lewis, Tack Farms Highly
Commended – Andrew & Pam Pounder, Stainton Hill Farms


Winner – Robert Reay, J Reay & Son
Highly Commended – John Cosgrove, Northwood Farms Ltd

HIGH FEED EFFICIENCY AWARD Sponsored by Mole Valley Farmers

Winner of the High Feed Efficiency Award in the 2018 Cream Awards, William Westacott

William Westacott

Winner – William Westacott, W & CJ Westacott
Highly Commended – Roger Hildreth, RF & J Hildreth

ORGANIC DAIRY FARMER OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Hi Peak Organic Feeds

Winner – Glasgoforest
Highly Commended – Severndale Farm

DAIRY TEAM OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Volac

Winner – Friars Moor Livestock Vets
Highly Commended – Cedar Farm Vets
Commended – Synergy Vet Tech Team

Image of blocking cutting Wensleydale Cheese, winners of the OMSCo Award for Innovation in Export at the 2018 Cream Awards sponsored by British Dairying Magazine

Blocking Cutting Wensleydale Cheese

HI TECH FARM AWARD Sponsored by Lely

Winner – Ben Williams, J & A Williams & Son
Highly Commended – James Evans, Priddbwll Mawr


Winner – Trusti Tuber, Dairy Spares
Highly Commended – Sexcel – Genus ABS
Commended – Urban Alma Pro – Volac
Commended – InTouch – Alltech Keenan


Winner – Paul Tompkins, South Acre Farm


Winner – Wensleydale Creamery
Highly Commended – Somerdale International
Highly Commended – Prima Cheese

Image of Prima Cheese, winner of the Food Chain Marketing Award at the Cream Awards 2018 sponsored by British Dairying Magazine

Prima Cheese

YOUNG FARMER OF THE YEAR AWARD Sponsored by New Holland Agriculture

Winner – William Fox, Lyde Green Farm
Highly Commended – George Winstone, Hampreston Farm
Commended – Joe Carter, IC, CA, & JC Carter

HEALTH & WELFARE AWARD Sponsored by Buitelaar

Winner – Kenton Bennett, Perry Farm
Highly Commended – John Baggs, John Baggs (Farmers) Ltd

FOOD CHAIN MARKETING AWARD Sponsored by NSF International

Winner – Prima Cheese
Highly Commended – Bio-tiful Dairy kefir milk
Commended – Delamere spreadable goats’ butter

Lacey's Family Farms Cream, winner of the Taste of Excellence Award at the 2018 Cream Awards sponsored by British Dairying

Lacey’s Family Farms Cream

DAIRY VET OF THE YEAR Sponsored by Krka

Judges Special Award to Dr James Breen, University of Nottingham
Winner Dairy Vet of the Year – Tony Kemmish, St Boniface Vets

TASTE OF EXCELLENCE AWARD Sponsored by Morrisons

Winner – Lacey’s Family Farm for their Single Cream
Highly Commended – Wensleydale Cheese for their Yorkshire Yogurt
Commended – Challon’s Combe Organics for their Halloumi Cheese

Photo Gallery

Please click on the gallery below to see photos of the winners of the different categories.

Once in the gallery click on any thumbnail to open a lightbox that will enable you to see a slide show or scroll through the images.

General photos from the evening can be viewed here. If you wish to download one, click on the download arrow and save it to your computer. They are all free to use.


Logos of the Sponsors of The British Dairying Cream Awards 2018